Convert absolute position to local position of a mesh

Hello,

I hope I do not ask too much, but I am a beginner in this and after hours wasted I just have to ask.

How can I convert the absolute position of a mesh2 into a local position of mesh1?
or
How can I create and start an animation taking global positions of the node?

Background:
I have a .glb avatar which gets imported into the scene. I have to do some scaling, rotating & positioning of the root node to get it to the correct spot. The scaling is like
scene_results.meshes[0].scaling = new BABYLON.Vector3(- SCALE, + SCALE, + SCALE)
The minus x scale is to have the correct position of left and right (Maybe this is important why it doesn’t work)

Now at a trigger, I want the right hand transformNode to go to a certain absolute position of a figure. The problem is with BABYLON.Animation.CreateAndStartAnimation you assume to give the local positions from this Node as starting and ending positions. The transform node has a not-so-intuitive local position.
I tried This approach which seems intuitive, but it is not working in my example. The hand always moves to the false positions. (I think because of the scaling):

let m = new BABYLON.Matrix();        
right_hand.getWorldMatrix().invertToRef(m);
const target_pos = BABYLON.Vector3.TransformCoordinates(figure_position, m);

Is this correct? Maybe I am handling my imports wrong why it doesn’t work? Maybe the 2nd line should be

m = right_hand.getWorldMatrix().invertToRef(m);

I would rather just work with absolute positions in the animation but I think it is not possible, right? I hope you understand my dilemma, because I do not know how to recreate this situations as my project is already huge. Thanks in Advance!

Have you tried setting the scene to use right handed system like below right after you create the scene? That might help part of the problem but a PG might be needed too… :thinking:

scene.useRightHandedSystem = true;
1 Like