A Demo, but a question too

I created this little piece which is kind of a show of respect for an actor from the 1940s - Sydney Greenstreet.

The Detective’s Office

View it with Firefox - the intro audio plays - then click on the monitor - and a conversation plays (the cell phone changes until the end of the conversation. )

Now in Chrome the scene loads but nothing happens - no audio …

Now I looked at this thread but I can’t figure out all the “audioEngine.useCustomUnlockedButton = true”, “audioEngine.unlock()” and “button.onclick = () => { BABYLON.Engine.audioEngine.unlock();” suggested by @sebavan. I tried putting this stuff all over the place with no effect.

I’m no coder, so could someone show me some working code that I can use to run this in Chrome?

It really does seem a shame that Google makes things so awkward…

And some questions is “pickable” the same as “clickable” and how is the" button" defined?

Hope someone can help … otherwise I will have no hair left!

cheers, gryff :slight_smile:

2 Likes

It basically mean you need a user interaction to unlock audio so a button click is by far the easiest.

Just put a start buttton somewhere and button.onclick = () => { BABYLON.Engine.audioEngine.unlock(); }

This will ensure to unlock the audio stack only on your custom button click.

If it does not work, please create a tiny playground repro and I ll look into it.

2 Likes

I’ll give it a shot @sebevan - and TY. I just hate to add a “start” button cluttering up the scene.

Yup unfortunately too many abuse of ads…

Looking pretty awesome @gryff! You’ve got that Film Noir vibe down!!!

1 Like

@PirateJC : Thanks - exactly what I am trying to do. And I always enjoyed Sydney Greenstreet. Wonderful voice (along with Peter Lorre who played Joel Cairo in the “Maltese Falcon”).

1 Like

I don’t think you actually need a button, any click on the page should suffice. I use a one time disposable handler for this on another project.