Discussion about running @babylonjs es6 version in browser with pure js (no typescript)

Hi there,

Firstly, I’d just like to say that babylonjs is a great project and it has saved me a lot of time and effort on my current game. :heart_eyes: Keep up the good work all!

I have been using the es6 version of babylonjs for a few months now. I use it for the tree-shaking and syntactic sugar advantages. My project is fully javascript (i.e. not typescript) so I can enjoy very fast iteration times simply refreshing my browser when coding against @babylonjs.

However, this was not straight forward to achieve.

Consider the following:

import { Vector3 } from “./@babylonjs/core/Maths/math.js”;

In a pure js project this will fail in all modern browsers because @babylonjs itself uses extensionless and unqualified paths when doing internal imports. For example in math.js we have:

• import { ArrayTools } from “…/Misc/arrayTools”;
  • import { Scalar } from “./math.scalar”;

This syntax may eventually be supported by import maps and the like, but for now this does not work natively in any browser afaik.

So to achieve coding against @babylonjs in pure js I perform source transformation to rewrite all the illegal imports into legal ones using jscodeshift. This is an automated process and takes around 30s on my machine. Doing so I can then import any class from @babylonjs freely.

I would like to share a mwe of this setup for any users or contributors who may be interested in how it works.

Now onto my actual points for discussion:

1. Is a pure js es6 workflow something babylon maintainers are interested in providing? Or is typescript the expected workflow?
  2. For including babylonjs in node can maintainers consider adding “type”: “module” to the @babylonjs/core package.json so node can use it as a es6 module?

Hey and welcome!

1. Yeah this is the way Typescript export the JS code unfortunately. They recommend to use Babel to get a pure es6 version