Drawing Lines to Create Walls

Hi Guys, I’m new to babylon, so please be gentle. I am interested in creating a function that I can draw a floorplan by picking points on the ground with lines. Like this…

CreateWalls

Hopefully, the gif above renders properly. If not, use this link Wall Sample

I know there is a walls playground in the docs. that is clear. What I am unsure about is how to do this by picking the points and seeing it render as you click the points. Is there another playground similar to what I am looking for?

Thanks in advance

This is more of a software architecture questions than babylon question but you can do any number of things. If you’re just making a box then just get the position where mouse went down on your 2d plane and then adjust the vertices of the box as the cursor position changes (using setVerticesData)

I suggest reading this page so you can understand how meshes and geometry works: Create Custom Meshes From Scratch | Babylon.js Documentation (babylonjs.com)

I don’t have an issue creating a static/custom mesh. My issue resides more with the scene animation and picking

Here is a starting point

1 Like

i started a playground, but was not successful in getting any line to render. my goal with this playground was to click 3 points in space and have 2 lines rendered

I did not do it all but got the lines drawing at least for you

Keep in mind scope for things like options and vector. you were defining them inside the callback. That would be a new array of points every time, had the rest worked. Aside from that, you need to use scene.pick with those mouse positions you had

Perfect thank you! I also improved it a bit.