How babylon sanbox centers the model automatically

Hi, I am new to babylonJs I am building an application that renders the model on upload, there are a few cases where the model is not created in the center. Since it is an open platform like sandbox I cannot center the model manually so how to bring the model to the center after it is uploaded

Thanks

Hi. I offered a solution to this in two other threads.

This one will lead you to the other one :smiley: Try reading through it and you should be able to figure it out. If you have some issue let me know and I will look into it, but solution is pretty much in copy/paste state, so you should be fine. At the end of the thread posted bellow you will find working playground where I implemented the solution, in the thread linked to thread bellow you will find step by step explanation (hopefully) on what’s going on.

@sebavan What do you think about putting this into a out-of-box method into code base, as it is becoming a recurring question and it might be useful to have it. I can try to create a PR for it in couple of days when I find time.

1 Like

Hi Thanks for taking out sometime, I tried the solution in which we build the parent box but for me its not working correctly.
Few things to mention

1. I am using react-babylon
  2. Loading model using Model component

I am not too sure if that would make any difference.

Update: whenever I try to set the parent of new meshes the model disappears :')
github: GitHub - ishanjirety/3d-renderer-babylon

Thanks

How are you setting the parent? Using mesh.setParent(parent) or using mesh.parent = parent?

It’s really hard do say what’s going on without more insight. Have you calculated bounding box properly and assigned it to the mesh? Try going into the inspector and show boundingBox to see how it looks (or set mesh.showBoundingBox = true)

I haven’t tried this approach using react babylon, but you should be able to do the same.
But I believe it should be something like

<Model