Babylon resizing causing iOS webkit jetsam memory leak event

In my company, we have built 3D configurator using Babylon engine. After the update to iOS 17.x.x we are noticing notorious jetsam event caused by a possible memory leak, when resizing the canvas. The problem seems to be non existing on older ios versions, but I cannot confirm it in 100%. Has anyone spotted a similar issue?

I’ve seen some similar posts from the past and since I’m quite new in the team, I only know that our devs had similar issues in the past and resolved them by limiting the size of the meshes. But after the latest ios update, the problem returned. I wonder if it’s a webkit bug, or maybe we have missed something in the latest app updates on our side.

oh, apple…

Do you experience this when running scenes in the playground as well, or is it only your experience? Are you doing anything special during resize, or just calling engine.resize() ?

In case you call engine.resize on every window.resize event … Did you try throttling?

It’s hard to recreate our scenes in the playground since it’s a 3D configurator. About resize, as for scene, we are doing only engine.resize(). There is of course other logic, but completely not relevant in context of the Babylon engine

Looks like it could totally be a webkit bug :frowning: Could you try to check on their bug tracker.

I am not able to repro in the playground, is it happening for you there as well ?

We have created codepen with our embed. I will try throttling in a second, seems like a good idea.

Added throttling for resize logic, no change, still getting jetsam event.

During the time you are checking with the Safari team on their bug tracker, I wonder if you have any post processes / shadows in place ? if yes could you try to disable them to see how big would the impact be ?

@sebavan we do not use the post process shadows, we do all pre-baked AO Maps and the ground shadow is just a texture with opacity material