Can I render dom elements in babylonjs?

Hi everyone! I’m new to babylonjs
I would like to know whether I can render dom elements for example, a div with some paragraphs , in babylonjs ?
Thanks for reading my newbie question!!

Hello!
You want to render a dom element on a 3D object or just display it above the BabylonJS canvas? I think, you are after the latter. You can use your BabylonJS canvas in a background layer and render the dom elements above. One solution is set the canvas style like this: position: absolute, top:0, left:0, and set right, bottom or width, height to the desired size of the canvas. Don’t forget about the z-index property. If you are still unsure how to do it, just let me know, I can create a little example for you.

2 Likes

Thanks so much for your reply and sorry I didn’t make my question clear
But in this way my dom element will always in front of the scene

Is there any way to make it truely inside the canvas?
For example I can hide the div behind a sphere in the canvas?

To make billboards? I think using GUI is a better choice.

1 Like

Or maybe something like this?

@ywlee we are glad to help you and welcome to the BabylonJS community!
Yes you can:

Those are two h1 elements mixed with the BabylonJS content.

You have to set the z-indexes accordingly. The div must be positioned absolute or fixed to create the layering effect.

And don’t forget to set the alpha in your clear color to zero:

Hope this helps!
R.

3 Likes

There is also the possibility of using DynamicTexture with the drawText method, but using the Babylon GUI would probably be easier in a simple case.

Can you provide more details? Its not clear if you want the DOM elements to display flat, like a web-page in the background, or if you want the DOM elements to be manipulated like a 3D object

Thank you guys for all the replies, I have read them all!