Collisions seems not to work on imported gltf-meshes

Hello!

I’m new to babylon.js and currently just trying some things for a project to see what is possible / what I have to do for that when I want to use babylon.js. The last two days, I’ve written an gltf-Exporter for my modelling software and imported it in babylon.js, which worked well. The only thing I can’t figure out is why I can’t activate collisions with the camera for this meshes… First, I tried:

scene.meshes.forEach(mesh => {
    mesh.checkCollisions = true;
});

I also tried to apply it to all child nodes of scene.meshes[0], which also does not work…
Is there any update-function I have to call after I set that checkCollisions-Attribute?

Here’s the modified collision example scene with my imported ground mesh: https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#4HUQQ#427 - the collision with the default plane works well, but my mesh is simply ignored.

Does anybody know what I’m doing wrong?

Thanks!

Hello and welcome to the forum!

The issue with imported geometry is generally the position of the pivot point (axis). If you inspect your scene in the application it was created, I suspect that you’ll find the pivot point is either off center, or that the scaling value is set to a value where a bounding model isn’t set properly in BJS. The solution is generally to freeze and center all transforms prior to export.

Regardless, I’m certain you’ll find the issue by inspecting the geometry in your original application and correcting there prior to export.

Galen

You were right about the pivot point, which was not the center of the meshes. However, collision detection still did not work after correcting the pivot point to the center.