How to limit camera translation along upVector

Hi, I’m new to babylon. I’m trying to create a camera that can hover over meshes at a specific (human eye-level) height. I noticed that by just using a freeCamera without constraints, moving the camera forward or backward via arrow keys or WASD depends on the direction the camera pitch axis is pointed via the mouse. So if you point the camera down, and press backwards, then the camera moves up. I don’t want this. I was thinking about using gravity to maintain consistent height, but because I want to hover, I would have to decrease the size of the camera ellipsoid to avoid colliding with things that are below the camera, and gravity would then just pull that smaller ellipsoid down to the ground until the ellipsoid mesh collides with the ground. That being said, I still want to be able to collide with walls and things that are at the same level as the camera. Is there a way to use the camera as it is, shrink the size of the ellipsoid, but still maintain the camera’s height? I want to be able to move the camera’s orientation with the mouse, but still be able to move forwards and backwards along the x-y plane.
Thanks in advance for the help!

One of doing it is to inherit from the camera type you want and override _checkInputs as such:

public _updatePosition(): void {
        this.cameraDirection.y = yourConstant;
        super._updatePosition();
    }

Sorry if I misunderstood, but this just keeps the camera moving up each frame. This doesn’t limit it.

True but you could apply your own logic there to limit the direction based on position for instance ?

Okay, so I am very confused about what you are suggesting I do.