Import vertex colored meshes with obj files

Hello,
Is it possible to import OBJ files with mesh colored by vertex?

I am new to Babylon.js… here is a part of my code:

const assetsManager = new BABYLON.AssetsManager(scene);
const meshTask = assetsManager.addMeshTask("mtask", "", "/data/objects/", "Ignatius.obj");
assetsManager.load();
meshTask.onSuccess = function (task) {
    console.log("loading success");

let ms = task.loadedMeshes.filter(function (mesh) {
        return mesh.geometry._totalVertices > 0;
    });
    const meshes = ms;

meshes.forEach(function (mesh) {
        console.log(mesh.isVerticesDataPresent(BABYLON.VertexBuffer.ColorKind));
    });
};

It always displays “false”… The OBJ file seems correct as it loads with colors per vertex when using meshlab…

Cannot answer your question, but while you wait, you might read the file with a text editor (if this is not a binary format), and make ABSOLUTELY sure that there are vertex colors in the file.

I scanned the code and I don’t think it reads any vertex colors. From a brief search on the web, it seems using vertex colors in obj is non-standard which is probably why it’s not implemented. I would be okay with supporting it under a flag though. Submit a PR if anyone wants to do it.

I am keen to have a look. I think R G B come after X Y Z. @Mickael_PASTOR - can you share an OBJ file?

Hi,
Thanks for all your answers! Here is a wetransfer link of a red colored stanford bunny with “hi !” written in black. For the purpose of the example, there is no normal vectors in the file: https://we.tl/t-I6YBfcfNLM

I got the red bunny with “HI” in MeshLab, so looks good.

I found where VCG imports OBJ files. They have RGB as additional tokens - if R,G & B are < 1 they are scaled by 255, but are otherwise used as is. We have Color4.FromInts(r,g,b,a)), so I will probably go the other way. Also, they support an optional alpha after the RGB, which defaults to 1.