Loading files into viewer by clicking on link in popup

Hi I am currently using a script that uses Unity Model Viewer with React. The script was created by someone else. Not being a seasoned coder I have managed to customise the script for myself but would like to replace the viewer with Babylon. This is what I would like to do:

1. select a link from the side navbar list.
  2. the link opens a popup that displays thumbnail of model/s in a specified folder.
  3. click on one of the thumbnails and add it to the viewer closing the popup.
    The script I am using does this by reading the content of a catalog.json file that is read into the pop up depending on which side link (i.e. the left menu) is chosen. The catalog.json references the folder in which that particular model and thumbnail is stored and then sends it to the main viewer.
    If anyone can help me with this it would really help my learning of Babylon and js in general. Is this a relatively straight forward thing to do? Thank You:)

You can do that in different ways:

The simplest (and worse) way would be to simply have different viewer copies, and each link open one copy.

A still simple way but slightly better would be to link to the same viewer but passing the name of the model in the url, like: https://yoursite.com/viewer.html?model=xyz.glb .

And finally, the best one would be to have javascript code on the sidebar which would call a load function on the viewer, passing the model as parameter. This one is possible but slightly more involved to do.

Thanks for this. I believe that the last option is how the script i have works. I am a newbie so if you could point me in the direction of an example that would be great. Thanks again.

I got in touch with the guy who wrote the original script and his reply was as follows:
“Babylonjs is a complete different 3D engine. So you can use the same skeleton but you need to develop the loader.