Mesh vs MeshBuilder for Collisions

Please bear with me, I am completely new to babylon,js.

When I started with the BABYLON 101 course, it mentioned making shapes using the MeshBuilder. But now I want to implement collisions and which ever example I see, uses Mesh to make the the meshes. This has confused me a lot. Could someone please clear this confusion?

Also, I want to know how to implement collisions for meshes, not cameras (I’m using a FollowCamera). I checked the tutorial, but it didn’t have any example there. I tried the code given, but still the collisions don’t work. (not sure whether I should mention my code here or not). Someone could guide me here too?

BTW, I am making a 2.5D third-person game.(If that helps…)

Thanks in advance, thanks for reading through too.

If any more information required, please let me know as this is my first post!

Welcome to the forums!

Mesh vs Meshbuilder. Mesh is more “rudimentary” and Meshbuilder has more options. For example: say I wanted a 5x5x6 cube. With Mesh this is not possible (from my experience) as the code is var cube = new BABYLON.Mesh.CreateBox("Box", 5, scene); This creates a 5x5x5 only. Meshbuilder can have more flexibility when creating meshes. To make a 5x5x6 with it, the code is : var cube = new BABYLON.MeshBuilder.CreateBox("Box", {width: 5, height: 5, depth: 6}, scene); Do you get the difference?

Next, you would like mesh collisions. Okay. Because you have a 2.5D game, that means between the player model mesh and everything else. mesh.checkcollisions = true Only allows for collisions between the camera and meshes. not between meshes themselves. You’ll need physics (Use a Physics Engine - Babylon.js Documentation).
Here is a little demo: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#9Q08R4#7. WASD to move, mouse to look. The camera is a child of the box.