NPM Cannot import * as BABYLON from '@babylonjs/core/Legacy/legacy';

Hey all, I’m using npm to add BabylonJS to my NodeJS / Express project and am having trouble importing the package into my main javascript file. I’m fairly new to web dev so perhaps the solution is something simple I’m missing. The steps I’ve taken are:

1. I used express-generator to quickly create a NodeJS / express skeleton without a specialized view renderer.
npx express-generator --no-view

After this initial setup my project structure is:

MyProject
|—app.js
|—Bin
|—node_modules
|—package-lock.json
|—package.json
|—public
|—|---index.html
|—|---index.js
|—|---style.css
|— routes

2. To add BabylonJS to the project I execute:
npm install @babylonjs/core --save

3. At the top of my javascript project file I import BabylonJS using:
import * as BABYLON from ‘@babylonjs/core/Legacy/legacy’;

4. I run the NodeJS server:
npm start

5. When I access the page at localhost:3000, the console displays the following error:
Cannot use import statement outside a module

After searching for solutions online, I found that potentially adding “type”: “module” to package.lock could help resolve this issue, but when doing so an error is thrown when I attempt to start the server, leading me to believe that this causes other parts of the project to break.

pinging @sebavan or @RaananW

Could you try not importing as BABYLON but replacing with another variable names ?

This would prevent conflict with some of the tricks used internally for the UMD packages.

Basically, legacy/ … is normally reserved for us at build time to generate the UMD version.

Also your error suggest that you are not using a transpiler and our ES6 packages contain ES6 import statement not compatible with all version of nodes and usually not with .js extensions. So you would need to use babel or such to transpile imports statements to require.