Positioning Gui controls with mesh

Hello,

I see in the GUI example that I can have text/labels follow a mesh but can’t quite get that working.

I have an example here:

When I rotate the mesh the text doesn’t track that edge of the mesh. I tried using the moveToVector3 method too but that didn’t seem to work as I expected.

Here’s the type of text I’m trying to display on a mesh:

1 Like

When you say you want to display on the mesh, do you mean in 3D (along the mesh)? or do you just want to show a 2D label?

Edit: From my understanding and from what I understand your current PG does not work because you’re not calling an actual mesh. Quickly made this, is this anything close to what you’re looking for?

2D is fine if it was on the top surface plane of the mesh.

This is my first attempt to do any GUI stuff in BabylonJS

I understand. It’s a bit disturbing when you start with it. Very different from what we know about making UI. Could you may be send a mock-up of how you want your text to show when attached to/linked to a mesh? It would help us point you in the right direction, because there’s also the 3D GUI that could apply here.

From the gui demo… is “You selected option 5” a 2D or 3D GUI control?

Here I just quickly twisted your PG using advancedTexture (the 2D GUI). The 3D GUI requires a different approach. You can forget about the advancedTexture but instead will have to create a ‘manager’.
Edit: The (3D GUI) manager will create a utilityLayer on top of the scene. You will next interact with this layer.

Apologies, didn’t quite read the question correctly. So, the answer is (obviously, since the text is showing in 3D), the ‘you selected…blabla’ text is from the 3D GUI.
Edit: Hang on, what is this example, do you have the link? It could be a rotated 2D GUI but with just a SS I can’t be sure…

Edit2: Just thinking of it once more (before it’s time to start the BBQ for dinner :wink:.