React and Inspector

Hi! I made a project using the boilerplate from this repo from the docs: https://github.com/blurymind/babylon-react-electron-app . My project is working as it should, but I can’t get the inspector to behave. I have this line in the code for my scene: scene.debugLayer.show(). The scene explorer will appear on the left the first time I load the page from the development server, but as soon as I click something it disappears and then on subsequent page loads it is missing entirely.

I learned from this post https://medium.com/@babylonjs/dev-log-creating-the-new-inspector-b15c50900205 that the inspector is also created using React. I wonder if this isn’t causing some kind of conflict? The inspector fails to work properly in the test app from blurymind’s repo as well. I looked over the docs and I see there are some options for the inspector, but I wasn’t using any before and don’t know what I would need to change to get it going.

I’m new to React so I am having trouble even finding where to begin. The inspector worked just fine in my plain typescript project. All I did was chop the scene creation bit and paste it over the scene in the boilerplate (modified imports and such). The scene works exactly the same. I just can’t figure this inspector bit out. I use it constantly. Hope someone out there knows of a fix.

pinging @sebavan who had the same issue

After reading some posts by @sebavan regarding this issue, I wanted to provide some more details.

I am not using es6 modules. I tried creating the inspector manually and showing it, but no success.

edit: No errors in the console or react compiler either, so I have no idea where to start.

Adding @brianzinn who built the babylon react project and will for sure have some more insights about this part.

Also adding @julien-moreau who built the inspector in Electron in case there were some gotchas.