Simple collision detection on drag

Hey people,

I am kinda new to the BabylonJS scene. I wanted to achieve a very simple collision detection when dragging a mesh. Basically I have a ground and one mesh on top. Goal is that the mesh is not draggable outside the ground. I thought it would be the easiest to have a invisible wall around my ground and have a collision detection on the mesh.

In my example I did a very simple setup (at least I guess it is simple and basic) where I have one sphere, which is draggable, and one wall on the side of the ground. This wall is not yet invisible and not everywhere around the ground.

The collision detection works fundamentally, but when I drag the sphere very fast or when I drag far outside the collision detection doesn’t work anymore. Does anybody have a glue why the collision detection is not that exact?

Welcome to the forum!

I have noticed you integrated a physics engine (cannon in that case) to use as collision detector. A physics engine has a lot of advantages, but is sometimes not the right choice for a specific usecase.

If you don’t need the physics calculations (like forces, impulses, gravity, etc’), I would use babylon’s internal collision system instead of a complex physics engine. You can use “mesh.moveWithCollisions” to move and calculate collisions against any collider that you define, and prevent the mesh from going through it completely (the same way our camera collision system works, It is decribed here:

Camera Collisions | Babylon.js Documentation

Thanks for the kind words. Also thanks for the quick reply

Alright I checked out the mesh.moveWithCollisions method, it looks promising. Still I am not sure how that would work in combination with the PointerDragBehavior

I saw some examples using a global variable startingPoint like in following example: Babylon.js Playground