Using onPointerUpObservable.add doesn't work

**Hi everyone,

I’m new to Babylon.js and I’m trying to figure out why my code isn’t working.
Here is my playground: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#QVM5WW#12.
I need to create a GUI window with a title, an image, and a description. I need to be able to open a link when I click on the image or the title. The problem is that I always get the error “window.open is not a function”.

Is there a bug with the onPointerUpObservable.add function?

Do you have any idea why my links won’t open when I click on my title or image? Thanks so much for your help :wink:

‘window’ in the click observable is referring to the GUI element, and you want it to point to the global window to open the link.
I renamed the GUI element window2.

1 Like

Thank you :wink:

**But I’m having trouble understanding why the link doesn’t open when I click on the image…

This seems to be an issue with Rectangle as parent, because its a GUI Control and not a GUI Container. I guess it doesn’t check children pointer events. @carolhmj may confirm?

My solution would be to use GUI Container like StackPanel or Grid as parent.

Working PG:

1 Like

I think I can safely answer “NO”. First of all, the rectangle is a container and second it doesn’t prevent any pointer actions for the children.

I had a quick look this morning and wanted to modify and reply but then I got cought having to do some other stuff :sweat_smile: In any case, I believe there was something with the entire set-up being wrong. It might also have had TB’s covering the image. Where a textBlock by default IS a pointer blocker.

Edit: OK, so just quickly for the debug, it is the description textBlock blocking pointer action on the image.

Then, as I said, the way this thingy is done and imbricated is kind of well, not ideal. :grin: