What is the best way to calculate the force to use for applyimpulse in order to impulse in a given direction?

Hi everyone,

I’m fairly new to 3D and the math that are used to calculate certain type of behaviors.
For example I’m trying to find a way to use applyImpulse with a force (first param) that will throw a sphere in the direction of a goal (a mesh) knowing that my camera is locked (using camera.target) on this goal.

I also want to be able to control the “power” of the impulse (don’t know what is the dedicated physics word). For that matter I use the time between space bar press and release to get a number that I will use as a multiplier when I will be able to calculate the force mentionned above.

Currently I think I know which data to start with (maybe camera.position and camera.getTarget()) but, as I’m really weak in math, I can’t figure out what to do with those data.

If someone has an idea or an hint to share that would be really helpful :blush:

I’m not sure it will help but here is the current state of my project of a basket ball minigame for which I want to implement the calculation explained above Babylon Template

My question in few words : How to calculate the force (first parameter of applyImpulse) in order to throw an object towards another ? ( and how to apply a variable “power” to the resulting vector )

1 Like

Hi PB! The “direction” used in physics applyImpulse (and applyForce?)… can be gotten by subtracting starting position… from target position (or vise-versa).

So, in your case, forceVector = camera.position.clone().subtract(camera.target) should give you something useable… or maybe forceVector = camera.getPosition().subtract(camera.target) … something similar to that, or switch the values around… or use forceVector.negate() as needed.