WOLOMV - the quintessential MMORPG

The name’s just a placeholder jokey name for now, it stands for World of League of MineStory ValleyScape - with the idea being that this game will take inspiration and hopefully extract the essence of the best parts of all of those games, and incorporate it into one quintessential MMORPG. (Bonus points for anyone who’s able to figure out every game that’s being referenced!)

I’m a professional web/FE software engineer who recently quit my job and am planning to take about a year or so off work, and this has kind of turned into my main focus. I started playing around BabylonJS just two weeks ago, it’s been great to work with and the Questions forum here is amazing, with so many helpful people around and really fast and informative replies, so a big shoutout/thanks to everyone for that!

I just conducted an initial multiplayer test with a few friends and recorded it, so here’s an initial look at what I’ve got so far (it’s not much, but it has just been ~1.5 weeks of work :sweat_smile:) -

A bit about the tech stack - it’s written in fullstack Typescript;

• client obviously powered by Babylon for world rendering (and currently using React for the UI, although not sure if this will stay)
  • server runs in Node
  • currently implementation of networking is WebSockets, although some of the game mechanics I’m thinking of introducing require high performance networking. So the plan is to switch over to WebRTC soon, I’ve got high hopes for this WebRTC-based library called Geckos.io (with the fallback plan being multiplexing over WebSockets, hopefully it doesn’t come to that)