Best approach when building a complex hex map?

Oh all knowing internet!
I humbly stand before you in search of your wisdom…

Hey there bjs-forum :wink:

Sooo… With a friend I recently started playing around with bjs and I must say i’m really impressed by the capabilities and the performance. But since this whole framework and the 3d-world in general is pretty new to me I have some questions regarding the proper approach…

We’re building a 4x game as a test-case loading ca. 40 low-poly tiles(at the moment), pre-baked in blender and exported as *.babylon. Each tile has an average size of 1,5mb, including a 1024px inline texture rendert as png. In the end we want to load ca. 250 different tiles. Most of the times each tile consists of one mesh, one material and one texture. Sometimes there are extra materials/meshes in the tile like a glass-material or a mesh for animation for example.
We load each tile once and position instances of it on the map.

There is an actor I’m moving around the map with an arcrotate camera attached to / following it.

We’re developing and testing on an mid 2011 iMac, 2,5 GHz Intel Core i5, AMD Radeon HD 6750M 512 MB, 12 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 and use Electron js v9 as a container.

So far for the (basic) setup. The overall performance is pretty great (I’m still processing the fact that nowadays it is possible to live-render 3d in a browser… wtf?! :wink:

We encountered some behaviors, we can’t quite explain though… Maybe someone can point us in the right direction?

So, here the tldr part :wink:

• What is the main bottle-neck in bjs, performencewise? No of vertices, no of meshes, faces, materials or textures? Or is it the texture-size?