Big Gizmo Improvements: Position Screen Space + Rotation Gizmo

Hey ya’ll

Some suggestions to really improve the gizmo UX :slight_smile:

1. Position screen space dragging. Right now there is only axis + planar
  2. Rotation Gizmo: Dragging anywhere on the gizmo sphere to rotate, instead of just the axes. (Like in Unity)

@Cedric @sebavan

1 Like

This would be a great addition. Feel free to do a PR. I take a note but it might be many weeks before I can start doing something.

Yup agree a PR would be great :slight_smile:

@Cedric I’m pretty new to the gizmo code, so I’m guessing I need to add a new PlaneDragGizmo to positionGizmo.ts and dynamically update the PlaneDragGizmo’s planeDragNormal based on the screen space plane normal

this.screenPlaneGizmo = new PlaneDragGizmo(screenPlaneNormal, Color3.Yellow().scale(0.5), this.gizmoLayer, this);
then dynamically update the screenPlaneNormal within (pointerDragBehavior)?

sounds like a pretty solid plan to try :slight_smile: @Cedric is currently off for a bit so his answers might be delayed.

gotcha

Yes, I would start doing that way and see how it goes.

2 Likes

I’ve decided to create a PG to test out a simple screen space translation (class ScreenPlaneDragGizmo extends BABYLON.PlaneDragGizmo) https://playground.babylonjs.com/#31M2AP#201

But sometimes the sphere gets bigger and bigger or smaller and smaller, I must be doing something wrong

@Cedric

vector3.forward return (0,0,1), but you need the plane that has its normal equals to the camera forward.
Once fixed, you get this:

Screen Space Gizmo | Babylon.js Playground (babylonjs.com)

Ok, I tried that in the onDragStartObservable function as well, but it still has the issue (become bigger and bigger/smaller) especially after I had rotated the camera e.g. to the right

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#31M2AP#203

It’s as if the z-direction relative to the camera also gets updated.