Capping extruded shape not working?

Hi, I am new to babylon.js and this forum.

Currently I am trying to cap an extruded shape. The cap is being added, but it is not correct. Can you please check and let me know if that’s a bug, or just me doing something wrong?

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#G0A3MW

Hi @oli and welcome to the forum. The issue is that the shape you are extruding is concave and the capping method does not work with concave shapes.

You can combine ExtrudeShape and CreatePolygon to get what you want https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#G0A3MW#1

If you do not want the final mesh to be open you can just use ExtrudePolygon

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#G0A3MW#2

3 Likes

Thank you very much for this quick answer and even coding the example solution to the problem. Exactly what I needed!

The two solutions you provided have a very different visual appearance - especially visible in that little “rounded” corner of the shape. While the solution based on ExtrudeShape is very smooth (actually smoother than it is defined), the solution based on ExtrudePolygon is not smoothed at all (it shows the true shape as defined).

Now, what I would like to have is a solid which allows boolean operations with other solids, but with a smooth surface like the one provided by ExtrudeShape. Is that possible? And if so - how?

The issue here is the formation of a mesh and whether vertices are shared or not. In the ExtrudeShape vertices are shared, in the ExtrudePolygon they are not. See https://doc.babylonjs.com/resources/normals

In this PG (playground) the extrusion has been converted to a flat shaded mesh and so has a similar appearance to the one created using ExtrudePolygon.

Can this be reversed? It can using

mesh.forceSharedVertices()