Colliders under physicsRoot

Hi,

I am new to babylonjs (and physics libraries in general).

I have made a demo to illustrate my problem https://playground.babylonjs.com/#1XWKCR#1

I am trying to model a square grid that behaves like there is space in the middle, as in, if an object happens to be in the middle of it, the grid should be hanging onto it.

Following the example here Babylon.js Playground, I have created 4 boxes, positioned 90deg to each other, added a PhysicsImpostor.BoxImpostor, and parented them under a physicsRoot with PhysicsImpostor.NoImpostor.

The grid behaves like there is only one collider, right in the center of the grid.

Can someone please explain what is going on there?

Thank you,

vinz

Invoking the almighty @Cedric

1 Like

Hi @vinz

This looks weird indeed! Let me try to find a fix.

Hi @Cedric, thank you for looking into it!

Not sure if this helps but If I enable physics helpers from the inspector this is what I see

The colliders for the grid are definitely not wrapping the meshes properly, while the colliders for the bars are tightly placed around the bars surface.
Are the physics helpers representative of the colliders volume or just an approximate visualisation not to be worried about?

Anyway, if I “unparent” the grid bits from the physicsRoot then the colliders look and behave as expected, yet of course independently from each other, which is not what I am after…

Scaling is used to determine the impostor size.
That’s fixed in this PG:
https://playground.babylonjs.com/#1XWKCR#2

But the physics still behaves weirdly.

1 Like

Hey @RaananW , IIRC you fixed an issue with compounds some time ago. Is it something that looked like this one?

Yep, seems very much related.

I fixed it for cannon.js - https://playground.babylonjs.com/#1XWKCR#4 seems to be working correctly. I haven’t looked into the ammo.js plugin…

1 Like

Awesome, thank you both!

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#1XWKCR#6 that looks pretty good :smiley: