Colors in procedural noise texture?

Hi all,

Is there a way to make this green and black instead of green and white: https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#K9GLE6#5

I couldn’t find a way to change the color of the noise, only the brightness of it.

Thanks.

hi
use this
https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#K9GLE6#6

It is not available by default but we could add it easily. Currently the noise is mainly used in the particles.

May I ask about the use case ?

1 Like

I am thinking of using this as the texture for cloaked space ships in my current project. I am curious about how this would be used with particles (I am still new to BabylonJS). Could you point me to an example?

Sure: Babylon.js Documentation

Forgive me, I have a lot to learn.

So in the example linked to on that page, the texture is defining the trajectory of the particles, yes? That is really cool but not something I would typically associate with a “texture”. I imagine it was just convenient to piggyback on the noise functions already made inside the noise texture?

Thanks for the link, btw. Very helpful.

Hi guys! I THINK I understand what is desired, here. At some rate, “speckle” a texture from transparent… into opaque. Right? Or something that simulates that.

So, let’s call the normal NOT-APPLIED ship texture… sourceTexture. It is a ship-like texture.

And let’s create and name an empty APPLIED-to-ship BJS dynamicTexture… targetTexture. It is invisible, by default.

Note: Keep in mind that the pixels in a context2d imageBuffer (a dynamic texture)… are Color4 dataType, so each pixel has an alpha setting. color4(0,0,0,1) is black, but color4(0,0,0,0) is transparent/see-thru.

When the ship de-cloaks, we could copy little 2px by 2px pieces-of sourceTexture… into/onto targetTexture… until completed.

Coooooool. Can it be done? hmm. :slight_smile: