HDR , Dds , Env files

Hello , i am a 3D Modeler and i am new in the Babylonjs world .

Usually in 3D software we use .Hdr files , so i am wondering :

1-What is the difference between .hdr , dds , and .env ?

2- And what is the best extention to use ?

3- Also how to convert .Hdr file to dds or .env

I already check this link Use a HDR environment (for PBR) - Babylon.js Documentation , but i dont find the answser for my question !

Thanks

Hi Propido,

Welcome to Babylon! As this is about 3D modeling/export, I’ll have to call for help from subject matter experts @PatrickRyan and/or @Drigax for part of it, but I can at least answer some of you’re asking.

1. .hdr is (apparently) a lossless image format for storing high dynamic range image data; I’m no expert, but I’m guessing that the focus of is on quality as opposed to compression, meaning it’s likely good for source content but not as ideal for shipping over a network to be displayed in real-time. .dds is a DirectDraw Surface; this format is designed specifically for use in real-time rendering, but it’s a Microsoft-specific type that can be tricky to use outside of the Windows ecosystem. .env is, as I understand it, a file type introduced by Babylon as a more Web-friendly alternative to .dds; a more precise description is in the second paragraph of the documentation section I linked to, but it’s basically just a pre-mipped cube map of PNGs along with a little bit of metadata.