How can I make a texture move towards a direction in node material editor?

Hello guys,

I am currently working on a project that needs to deal with the conveyors, I would like to have the following effects which is made by unreal engine using textures.
conveyor_small

I am completely new in dealing with materials and textures and I have no idea how to do this in Babylon.js. I have made an NME (Babylon.js Node Material Editor (babylonjs.com)) to test this, however I cannot even make the UV in the correct direction. Can anyone help me out there or can you guys give me some ideas how I can learn this from scratch? Since I found that the documentation and the YouTube videos are hard to understand.

using the uOffset variable on a texture could help here:

Fake caustics with multiple render passes | Babylon.js Playground (babylonjs.com)

I have also added rotation on the ground to show that it doesn’t matter what the rotation of the mesh, u (or v) offset will always “push” the texture in the same direction

2 Likes

Great thanks! I am able to create the conveyors! However, my conveyors have different sizes and some of them are curve:
chrome-capture-2023-9-16

I would like to NOT have the textures being stretched, and I have tried adjusting the uScale and vScale, and seems that they are not working. I would also like the curves display correctly, currently is seems that the offset the the direction is different from a straight block, is there way to calculate this, or I need to manually adjust it?

cc @PatrickRyan will have some good input about this :slight_smile:

@Ben_Jamin, what you need to do here is carefully plan out your mesh UVs to ensure you don’t get any distortion in your textures. For example, let me show you an approach here. If you were to make a simple tiling texture… here I used a simple 256x256 texture and created the tiling arrow pattern in illustrator and exported as a png file.