How to create explosions

Hi everyone,

I am studying how to implement explosion that typically consists of 3 parts:

1. Visualization: fire, flashes, lights, particles or anything else that makes explosion visible. I assume that in most cases it might be just artwork without any physics model under it. I am not good at art, so searching for some existing examples.

2. Splash damage. Damage to objects reduces while distance from explosion center grows. Sounds easy, but might be not so in real. First, we need to calculate which objects in scene will be affected and calculate distance to them to apply corresponding damage. Second, and the hardest part, splash damage should not work through solid walls. Any examples, alorithm here?

3. Shockwave. Explosion force should push objects from explosion center. And again, force should not work through solid indestructible walls. The hardest part I think.

There is a playground from docs, but it doesn’t work anymore (looks like something is broken): https://playground.babylonjs.com/index.html#0LM7CJ#6

Any way, I need more understanding of how explosion might be simulated. Will appreciate good examples on Babylon and theory references. Please share if there is anything.

Thank you for attention to my question!

1 Like

Well this code should work. I sent an email to https://github.com/bobalazek who is the author :slight_smile:

Pinging @trevordev if he can help as well

Hey! Sorry, I’ll update the documentation ASAP!
Temporarily, here you can see & check out all the effects:
https://playground.babylonjs.com/index.html#UZHINX

1. Correct, you can do this part without any physics stuff. You could maybe even use babylon’s own particle effects for that: Use the Particle Helper - Babylon.js Documentation