How to get mouse wheel value

Hey I am new to BABYLON. I am trying to get the mouse wheel input value but i can’t find the correct observer for that. I searched onPointerObserver but its not in there. i want to use the mouse wheel input to scale my mesh.

Thank you

Hi and welcome to BJS!
It could be depending on the type of camera you are using. Actually, there are different methods, but I guess the easier is to capture the value from the camera. i.e. Say you would be using an arcRotateCamera, you can capture the value of ‘radius’. What type of camera are you using?

hey, i am using universal camera. but how can i capture value from camera

Well, that’s precisely depending on the type of camera. Look at this PG of a universal camera, click on ‘the inspector’ (3rd icon in the top menu) and in the inspector ‘nodes’ click on the camera.

Notice how your camera changes ‘positions’, ‘rotations’ AND 'target. It is changing target precisely because it’s ‘a universal camera’. So you can retrieve any of the values from camera.position, camera.rotation and camera.target, however in your case you said

By saying this, ‘my mesh’ needs to be recognized (as a target/targeted mesh), which is not the case by default using a universal camera. May be you should consider using another type of camera or may be this is what you want, however in this case, we would need to determine how the mesh is defined as ‘targeted’ (and will make things a bit more complex :wink:

hey thank you for your response, but can’t i just get the mouse wheel value, like how mush my wheel has been rotated.

Well, I’m afraid that will not help you. A mouse wheel can have different sensitivity inputs. Already by default, it can scale 1, 3, 5, 10 rows. In the end, speaking about a 3d env, it’s your camera that will determine how close you are looking at a mesh (not the rotation on your mouse wheel). So, to get accurate result, you need to determine the position of your camera looking at your mesh/target.