How to set a gradient on my background

Hello guys,

I’m new to Babylon and it was asked to me to change the background color to a gradient.

So I understand I can change the color of the background with : scene.clearColor = new BABYLON.Color3();
but that’s just for one color, not a gradient. I tried :

var backgroundMaterial = new BABYLON.BackgroundMaterial(“background”, scene);
backgroundMaterial.topColor = new BABYLON.Color3(1, 0, 0); // Rouge
backgroundMaterial.bottomColor = new BABYLON.Color3(1, 1, 0); // Jaune
backgroundMaterial.useEquirectangularFOV = false;
scene.clearColor = backgroundMaterial;

but it doesn’t work, my scene appear just black.

Any ideas ? (oh and I don’t have to use a skybox and I know I can do it with an image but I have to found how to do it directly with scene.clearColor.)

Thank you

You can use the gradient material for a mesh and if you use the camera as a parent, you can “fix” it at the same position even if the camera is moved.

gradientColor with HemisphericLight | Babylon.js Playground (babylonjs.com)

2 Likes

Oh thank you! A little bit weird but I suppose it make it ^^
I thought there was a simpler way with just scene.clearColor but it seems thats not the case.

I just dont understand why it cant be simple ? I mean in CSS, you can set up the background color just by saying background: blue, and if you want a gradient you just have to write : background: linear-gradient(…);
Here, in Babylon, if you want to change the color you just have to write : scene.clearColor = new BABYLON.Color3(0, 0, 0, 0) but for gradient you cant write new BABYLON.Color3(linear gradient)
I dont understand why it cant be simple just for a gradient …

The simple answer is that Babylon doesn’t use CSS, it uses WebGL, which is a totally different API. The clearColor parameter is mapped directly to the WebGLRenderingContext.clearColor method WebGLRenderingContext.clearColor() - Web APIs | MDN (mozilla.org), which doesn’t accept a gradient.