Improve HighDPI Support (especially for BABYLON.GUI)

Just getting back into Babylon.js development, and I started playing around with BABYLON.GUI. My initial investigations left me with some mixed feelings; I love that it exists, and it’s not nearly as terrible as some of the videogame GUI libs I’ve used in the past. (Unpopular opinion: Crazy Eddie’s GUI, aka CEGUI was terrible.)

For me, the immediate thing I noticed that just seemed plain weird was that it looked rather low-res:

What I didn’t notice at the time (thank you anti-aliasing) was that the rendered sphere is also low-res. See, I’m developing on a MacBook Pro, so I’ve got a nice hdpi (“retina”) screen. These days 95% of the stuff I encounter supports hdpi, so it took me a second to realize what I was actually seeing.

Admittedly, I spent a couple of hours fighting with the AdvancedDynamicTexture to try and overscale and then scale back down, and nothing I did looked right at all. It wasn’t until I realized the entire canvas wasn’t rendering at hdpi that I started stumbling in the right direction.

Here is the final “working” version: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#AI8MIC#1

There’s a couple of issues here that I think should turn into Feature Requests and/or bugs.

engine.setHardwareScalingLevel(1 / window.devicePixelRatio);

This is required to get hdpi rendering from Babylon, but I only cobbled it together with a lot of google searching. Oddly enough, the docs say:

By default, Babylon.js will adapt to device ratio in order to produce the best possible quality even on high-DPI devices. (Source: https://doc.babylonjs.com/how_to/optimizing_your_scene#turning-adapttodeviceratio-off)

That just doesn’t seem to be happening, either locally for me, or on the playground? Regardless, I feel like the docs could use a bit more discussion, since the only forum post I could find talking about enabling hdpi was this one: HTML5 Game Devs Forum - HTML5GameDevs.com

Clearly, things have changed since then. :wink: