High level questions about BabylonJS, WebGL and learning shaders & complex rendering techniques

For some background context: I’m a software engineer who jumped into BabylonJS a few months ago with zero knowledge of 3D graphics and, the engine has been nothing but amazing, especially in the beginning in terms of abstracting away all the hairier low-level details. This forum/community and the team behind Babylon have all been amazingly helpful and I can’t thank everyone enough for all the support :pray:

I’m working on a game (some of you may have seen my post in the demos forum), originally I was satisfied with having modest graphics, but the direction of the project has changed and I’m now interested in trying to improve the visual quality.

In the past few weeks I’ve done a bunch of learning (went through this Learn WebGL and have started working my way through The Book of Shaders) - so I’ve got a decent understanding of the rendering pipeline, and how the model/view/transform matrices, lighting, textures, and shaders work (at least at a high level). At the same time I’ve gotten the feeling that I’m way in over my head, relative to my goals, so I had a couple of high-level questions;

1. I’d like to target graphics of a quality comparable to these examples: PuffPals / Animal Crossing - is this level of graphical quality achievable in a browser on WebGL/Babylon (say on a medium-range GPU, targeting 50-60 FPS), or is it still too early for that? (I imagine it would for sure be possible on WebGPU in the future, but that still seems quite a while away from being truly stable and useable?)