Looping an animation by interpolating

Hello there,

As I am fairly new to the API, I am not sure whether what I want to do is possible or not, but I figured here is the best place to ask :slight_smile:

I have a .glb model with an animation attached, which targets the different parts of my model, such as pelvis, spine etc. The animation is taken from Mixamo

My goal is to cut the animation right before the end, so the character will be almost in the initial T-pose, then I want to linearly interpolate between that state and the start state of my animation, so as to create the illusion of the animation looping. I have a couple of questions about this.

1. How can I get a subclip of an animation? I looked at AnimationRange, but I am not sure whether this is the right class to use.

2. Firstly I would need to get the state of my model when in T-pose and in the last frame of the subclip. How does one do this in bjs?

3. How do I interpolate from one state of the character where the components like pelvis, spine,ā€¦ controlled by different animation channels have specific values to the initial T-pose? Assuming I have state1 = s1 of my model and state2 = s2 of my model, I need to get from s1 to s2 in a smooth way via interpolation.

If parts of the question are unclear, I am happy to clarify them. Thank you for any help provided!

I would advice to get your animation ready in your art tool of choice :slight_smile: as it would be much simpler if it is possible

I would like to be able to control a bit of the animations via Babylon after exporting the model. Is this sort of thing not supported? I looked at stuff like tween.js but not sure if that is already too much.

The thing is it totally depend of the complexity of your animations and such. You can for sure do all of it by hand but it might not always be simple.

You should create a repro in the Playground so that the community could try to find the best solution.