Mesh edge rendering doesnt update

Hello,
Iam trying to draw 3D lines … didnt want to use tubes as I would need thousands and using tubes would end up with huge amounts of unnecessary polygons.

I also need some thickness in 3D so the default line system doesnt suit my needs at all because it renders a line with constant thickness without considering its distance from camera.

So before writing whole new 3D line system myself, I tried that hack with .enableEdgesRendering()
It works exactly as I need except I cannot use textures, but luckyly I dont need them at that point … aaaaand the more important problem is that I need to invoke that .enableEdgesRendering() function every frame to make it work what has terrible performance impact.

I am new to babylon, so Id like to ask if I do something wrong or found a bug or it just doesnt work that way, why and how can I fix it ?

Here is PG which I hope clearly demonstrate the problem:
https://playground.babylonjs.com/#Y7CS4N#6

Thanks in advance for any help.

Actually, it is kind of by design and kind of a bug :slight_smile: as the code you call is valid but generating the edges is pretty slow and should not be done every frame. This is why it does not update automatically once created.

the edges here would act as planes so I wonder if using planes would work for your case. The amazing trick would be to use instances of planes or cylinder Thin Instances | Babylon.js Documentation

Hi @sebavan, thank you for reply!