Multitouch do not work as expected in some linux wayland based environments

Hello all,

I’m working on migrating an application that uses Babylon on a windows environment to a Linux one.

I have 2 different Linux setups both wayland based. The application runs well but some multitouch actions do not work.

Looking into the browser’s console I can see an error reporting that the maxTouchPoints has been exceeded. Then I realized that the Navigator.maxTouchPoints = 0, even when the touch screen is connected.

This behavior remains the same after testing it with different Babylon versions and Chromium versions as well.

I run some tests using a Ubunto regular environment (no wayland) and the value of the Navigator.maxTouchPoints is ok (=10)

I know that the Navigator.maxTouchPoints comes from the WebAPIs, but I have no clue why the value is being wrongly reported.

I may have been messy explaining the problem but I am not a developer and I am not comfortable with most of those concepts. Please request as much information as you need to understand the problem.

Thanks in advance,

Nuno

Welcome to the forum @ngmartins !!!

Unfortunately it seems, as you noticed, to be an issue within Chromium on this environment :frowning: You could try creating an issue on their bug tracker as I am not sure of any workarounds unfortunately.

hi @sebavan,
Wow, you were fast. Appreciate your help.

I am not sure about the problem being on the Chromium level since it works properly in some setups.

Actually, I decided to come to this forum because in one of my most recent tests I dropped the Wayland and used an Xserver-based browser.

In that specific test, I got the Navigator.maxTouchPoints = 10 as expected but the multitouch action still didn’t work. That’s when I start considering the problem being on the Babylon side

Ohhhh yes in this case it is strange. Let me add our input GURU @PolygonalSun to the thread !!! Please bare with us as we have team events this week.