Octohedron style icosphere ... does it exist?

Hi! I’ve been working on a game that has a procedurally generated world. I store it in 2 square arrays and project each half on to an octohedron internally. Poles are at the center equator around the edge. There is no ui yet other than a canvas app that dumps of the 2-d image (to-be used as atexture) so i know things wrap around the edges correctly that i would use for a texture.

ex:

I would like to give a visual to the users using some out of the box stuff. but i’m completely new to babylon js and open gl in general (though i’m old hat at most things web/server related) and haven’t found a good way to do this.

I found the Create Polyhedra - Babylon.js Documentation and the fantastic transformation of a d-20 into a sphere https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#E3TVT#1 with the subdividing… if i could do that with an 8 sided polyhedron that would be perfect. I guess i could try building my own mesh (but again completely new to this) but i was trying not to. It feels like something that should already exist. does it?

I’ve looked everywhere via google and other than some one sharing some python code ( Octahedron Subdivision they have a working example which is nice ) and maybe something in unity (maybe not relevant Octahedron Sphere, a Unity C# Tutorial ) but I haven’t found anything in babylon js (or three js or even plain open gl) … If the answer is, “it doesn’t exist” that’s cool was just hoping to hear from those who know better beore i try reinventing the wheel. thanks!

maybe @JohnK or @jerome could help

Hi @James_Scheibel and welcome from me.

It is stiil fairly straight forward to build one Babylon.js Playground

4 Likes