Possibility to put animated sprite as material for box(mesh)

I’m new in BabylonJS community so first i want to say hello all, nice to e-meet you :slight_smile:

I’m started playing with BabylonJS couple days ago as my company is gonna switch from 2d games to mix 2d+3d and we would like to use BabylonJS in our future projects:) However, as Babylon is focued on 3d i faced a problem how to display sprite animations combined with 3d elements.

So let’s say i have box, i move this box from point A to B and once movement is done i would like to display animation on once of the face of box. What’s the best way to achive it?

I think that would be nice to have such possiblity in material, for example:

cont material = new StandardMaterial(“animatedMat”, scene);
const textures = [
Texture.fromFrame(“url_to_texturePacker_atlas.json”,“frame_name_1”),
Texture.fromFrame(“url_to_texturePacker_atlas.json”, “frame_name_2”),
Texture.fromFrame(“url_to_texturePacker_atlas.json”, “frame_name_3”)
];
material.animatedSprite = new AnimatedSprite(textures)
myBox.material = material;
material.animatedSprite.play();

Or maybe there is other way/solution how to achive it in 3d? I’m fairly new in 3d concepts(worked only with 2d before) so if i misunderstand something do not hesitate to tell me :slight_smile:

Hi,
Welcome to this forum.

The best way to get help is to put your code in a PlayGround (PG) https://playground.babylonjs.com/
so we could understand better how it looks for now and what you want to achieve : is the problem the fact to display the texture only on one box face ? or to trigger the animation at some moment ? or to correctly animate the sprite ? or all at once ?

Hey, problem is that i wondering how to display animation based on sprites on box’s faces.

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#UYKBWI

In general i’m wondering how to combine 2d and 3d. Thought that this is the way but maybe i’m wrong?