Realistic, real-time (performant) trees and vegetation?

Just wondering if anyone has any advice about creating realistic, real-time (performant) 3D trees and vegetation for Babylon.js, specifically landscaping around architectural scenes? I’ve used simple 2D billboard trees and Xfrog 3D trees in the distant past with game engines, and I know there’s also The Grove, Speedtree and Blender’s Sapling plug-in.

I don’t need close-up detail or wind or growth animation - just decent looking realism at a distance.

Any advice or output examples appreciated.

3 Likes

I’m not an artist nor a blender user but maybe @gryff or @Vinc3r have some recommendations?

Hi inteja,

We used 2D Plane with transparency of realistic image of tree. Then had trees (and bushes) lookAt(cam.position).

Surprisingly, as we walked around/through the trees and bushes, always turning toward the cam - it was not easy to notice everything rotating. It made me more curious about this technique.

We “stacked” leaves of bushes to get a good 3D illusion. For trees, I stopped at single 2D (good enough), but was inspired by an example where many 2D planes were used to make trees.

Recently we experimentes with the technique of “stacking” multiple 2D planes in 3D space (for nebula and galaxy) and came away with 60FPS. From the side it looks like an accordion, but after all are parented to a “master” and the master looks at the camera - it is never possible to tell if it is 2D or 3D or a stack… of 2D images.

Also it gives a nice realistic parallax, which could be be achieved with foliage.

If this sounds possible for you I’m happy to share the code for a test.
The reason we like this approach is:

1. getting realistic 2D images is easy.
  2. easy to modify to get the exact look you want.
  3. surprisingly difficult to tell where 2D and 3D overlap
  4. -> 60 frames per second <-

We pushed the limit with the space scene… which would be similar for a forest.