Rotating bodies don't collide correctly

Hi, I’m a newbie at BabylonJS, and I’m hesitant to call a ‘bug’ when it is likely my own ignorance. But I’ve worked at this for two days, have read everything I could find, and still can’t make it work.ing to

I’m trying to bounce oblong spheres with a physics engine. It works perfectly from every axis when the sphere has not been rotated. So the physics engine understands that spheres have (a,b,c) dimensions. (change the shape of the sphere and the top collision still works every time).

But add a little rotation and the collisions no longer take place at the right time. The physics engine understands the rotation and correctly transfers angular rotation from one body to another. But it is as if the physics engine rotates the mesh while the imposter sphere itself doesn’t rotate.

Here’s a demo: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#6QF3KP#3

The top pair have no rotation.

The middle pair collide exactly at the same time as the top pair.

The bottom pair is like the middle pair, but using impulse to set angular velocity.

Thanks in advance.

Pretty sure Bullet/Ammo can handle rotations. I’m going to try to figure this out myself. I’ve pulled down the BJS code from Github. It’s crazy hard for a newbie, but that’s how we learn and move up.

neat idea, but lots of setup. collisions of rotating objects should just “work”. let me dig into Bullet/Ammo.

also, if the spheres don’t collide but slip past, two objects could get ‘hooked together’.

also might be very slow if lots of spheres. but the idea is interesting. might be easier to distribute a set of approximately evenly-spaced points on the surface of a object (maybe with a Fibonacci lattice?). it’s easy to check whether a point is inside or outside a regular solid, but slow to check EVERY point.

Thanks Necips. But I don’t want to write my own physics engine, just want to dig in and figure out what is going on in the Ammo interface. And learn from studying other people’s code.