Sample Code for Generic Items

Overall, I think the babylonjs documentation is excellent. For many features there is good sample code in the documentation. However, I’m still pretty new to using this framework, and as a “newbie” I often find myself looking up something in the documentation that is rather simple, and therefore often doesn’t have much in the way of sample code. As an example, if you look up the type “ValueAndUnit”, even though the documentation does an excellent job at describing the type and its methods, etc., there is no easily accessible sample code available (which can be extremely useful). So I have to search through a lot of random code to find sample usages, or simply figure it out by trial and error in my dev environment.

So I guess what I’m asking is this: Is there an easy way to find sample code for pretty much any basic function?

2 Likes

Hey welcome!
Sometimes it’s a good idea to have a look at THREE or even Unity examples. The terminology and the method/property names are quite similar. You can find info on some stuff even without targeting a specific framework when searching the web.

:vulcan_salute:

1 Like

cc @PirateJC

Hey @Slimfinger!

First and foremost, welcome to the Babylon family! We are sincerely grateful to have you here. We’re glad to hear that you’ve found the documentation to be helpful and useful, but also 100% recognize how it can still represent a steep learning curve for folks who are brand new to Babylon, or even 3D or the web in general.

I’ll tell you that the learning curve for “newbies” is a personal passion of mine. I consider myself a fairly terrible developer and FAR FAR below the experience and expertise of countless amazingly talented people in this community. So at times I find it intimidating to ask questions or find answers to some of the most seemingly simple questions. So you are NOT alone.