Tilemap Help (boxes flying for no reason)

Hello! I am trying to create a map using an array, like so:

let map = [
	[1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1],
	[1, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 1],
	[1, 0, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 1],
	[1, 0, 0, 1, 1, 0, 0, 1],
	[1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1]
];

I’m able to create the objects successfully, but the objects go flying off, and only some remain on the ground.

1. Is there any way to fix this?
  2. Is there a more efficient way to create a map?

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:
Link: Babylon.js Playground

EDIT: I was able to solve the box flying issue by setting the position before adding a physics impostor. Now that this is solved, can anybody point me towards a more efficient method of implementing maps?

Hi BattleSquid and others.

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#TAT04P#7

Wingnut goofing around. Click on canvas… WASD keys impulse the sphere. But, something is wrong with BACK and RIGHT (S & D keys). I am still studying that.

Pretty fun! I modded lots of stuff… sorry about all the mods.

Update: PG #10 - no need to click canvas on this one. :slight_smile: More power, too. Using a continuously-set .lockedTarget on a standard ArcCam… with an altitude-boosting adjuster (a Y-offsetter). (Chapman camera crane/jib) :wink:

2 Likes

Here are some mapping options:

Editor:
DIY editor that presents an editable grid and can save a map (json, buffer, etc)
Images: just draw pixel art and use the image as a map (after parsing the pixel data)
Tiled Map Editor (2D, but has layers) https://www.mapeditor.org/
Blender, etc

I recommend wrapping the map as an object or class and implementing functions like set/getTile(x, y) or set/getVoxel(x, y, z). Then the actual map data can be quite a few things behind that function.

Here are some options for representing the map and a little discussion on each: