Weird issue using Vite

I’m totally new to Vite so maybe it could be just a newbie/stupid issue.

I’ve imported it

import * as BABYLON from ‘@babylonjs/core’;
import ‘@babylonjs/materials’;

But after that, I get this error:

BABYLON.Quaternion.Identity is not a constructor

Any idea about that? Thank you!

I believe you need to do it like it is described at npm documentation

npm install @babylonjs/core --save

This will allow you to import BabylonJS entirely using:

import * as BABYLON from '@babylonjs/core/Legacy/legacy';

or individual classes to benefit from enhanced tree shaking using :

import { Scene } from '@babylonjs/core/scene';
import { Engine } from '@babylonjs/core/Engines/engine'

If you are using the ES Modules, you really should try to import individual classes so you get tree shaking. This will likely resolve your issue as there is probably something you are importing that you don’t need that needs a different import; I suspect it is the materials import. It will also dramatically reduce the size of your js file. Also, if you are building a lib and you plan to mark babylon as external in optimizeDependencies, be advised that importing the entire module as you have done with materials will cause vite to bundle the entire module even if you mark it as external.

2 Likes

Notice that the initializer problem has nothing to do, with importing them individually, it happens too, my solution maybe is not the most elegant one but it works:

rotationQuaternion = new Quaternion(0,0,0,1);

The weird thing is that BABYLON.Quaternion.Identity doesn’t work but the rest of the code (long one) does.

Btw I’ve made:

import {
Engine,
Scene,
ArcRotateCamera,
TransformNode,
CubeTexture,
MeshBuilder,
PBRMaterial,
Vector3,
Quaternion,
SmartArray,
WebXRSessionManager,
WebXRBackgroundRemover,
WebXRFeaturesManager,
WebXRFeatureName,
Mesh,
VideoTexture,
ShadowGenerator,
VertexData,
Color3,
Texture
} from ‘@babylonjs/core’;