When I am panning the camera the model loss the precision, how can I increase the precision?

Hello everyone

I have a simple tube and when I want to rotate the camera around the model , the model start to loss the precision.
as can be seen in the following clip:
chrome-capture (9)

how can I solve this problem?
here is my PG: https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#CPA4SL#1

I’m no expert on this but my understanding is what you’re seeing is a hardware floating point precision limit. The range of floats you’re using there is huge.

Often if I receive georeferenced CAD or BIM files from a client I’ll see numbers like this and my first step is to scale everything to my target platform’s units, reposition to world origin and then apply/reset all transforms before exporting. This usually resolves any floating point issues.

1 Like

Actually it looks like you asked a similar question a while back.

The problem is the same and the suggested solutions in that post are similar to mine above.

Hi @inteja, in the previews question the problem solved with scaling and I didn’t find better solution, but I need another solution now.

I don’t think there is another solution. It’s a hardware limit. Use smaller numbers, relative to world origin. Everything is relative to the observer (camera) - you don’t need absolute coordinates so it’s easy to avoid such floating point precision issues.

Sorry I didn’t understand why I don’t need to the absolute coordinates?

I am trying to build a GIS app, and all this coordinates are on the height map, because of that the coordinates its very important

Everything is relative to the camera. Say you’re wanting to represent our huge solar system. If you use absolute coordinates for everything there’s no consumer hardware that can handle that. If you scale everything down to manageable units and have a floating origin that tracks the camera, you can visualise the entire solar system.

I’m not sure I explained that very well.