Any way to make GUI resize more exact and faster?

Does anyone have any thoughts on how to make this GUI rectangle resize more exact (exactly the width of the mesh) and/or faster on camera zoom?

In the above example it isn’t super easy to see but the rectangle actually becomes wider than the mesh at certain zooming. It is more evident in this video (around second 20):

This video is of a React-three-fiber solution that seems to do a much better job scaling the text during zoom:

I’m new to Babylon and 3D programming in general so these questions maybe not well thought out but:

• Is GUI the right tool? Would this perform better if the text were a mesh? If so, how does one get a resizable text mesh in Babylon?
  • Is measuring the mesh the slow part? I’ve fiddled with coming up with the offsets solely based on the camera radius but no real luck.
  • Is there a way to keep the camera zoom and text resize in sync? Basically prevent the zoom until the text has been resized?

This is a follow up of this post: How to do GUI like text but expanding - #7 by msDestiny14

Ooh I remember making that resizing function, guess it still needs some more work or maybe another approach thou. :slight_smile: Here’s an update to it using relative radius to more quickly calculate the updated width and offset of the GUI rectangle… It still seems laggy (maybe a bit better thou?) and still the width will sometimes end up being a little off… IDK what the fix is thou. :thinking:
PG: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#XCPP9Y#11065

Actually, now that it’s updating faster, doing it on the before render observable helps cut down the lag more it seems… :slight_smile:
PG: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#XCPP9Y#11066

3 Likes

Yeah, that’s better but still laggy:

Is there no way to keep the updates in sync? Really appreciate the help!

1 Like

Hey guys!