Application for Visualizing Rays Bouncing Through City

I’m looking for a 3D rendering tool to develop an application (browser or desktop) and babylon.js seems to be it. I’m a C++ software engineer of >10 years who knows how to play with python/bash, and enough javascript/HTML/CSS to be dangerous.

What I need to do is a few steps long:

1. Import a file of “buildings” represented by 2D outlines (in the XY-plan), a minimum height, and a maximum height. Many of these will be simple cuboids, but some may have more than 4 sides. The data for these can be a list of triangles per building. Say up to 1,000.
  2. Import a list of triangles representing a terrain. Say up to 10,000.
  3. Import a list of line segments showing the path a bunch of balls or bullets would take bouncing around the city from point A to point B. This line has a thin width. Say up to 100,000 segments.
  4. The ability to attach data to the line segments (say color or length or width) and then easily turn them on/off with some drop-down filters.
  5. Other notes: Everything in the scene is static, not changing over time. I don’t really care about textures and shadows look so long as you can fly around the scene and see the different buildings/rays (for instance brown terrain, gray buildings, and green lines are OK).

Before I start down this road:

1. Do you think babylon can handle this well?
  2. I’m thinking performance should be OK, but I’m a little worried of going down the wrong path with how I structure my code or using the wrong idiom to load/form meshes, and finding it’s way too slow in the end. I need it to be really fast to load/render/filter on a workstation.
  3. I’m hoping much of this can be refactoring example code to suit for rendering and maybe writing some file importers as needed… is that a realistic hope? Does anyone know if there are some relevant code blocks or even similar applications I can grab code from?

Thanks so much for any hours your response will save me!!!