Applying colour/ texture to part of model. Best approach?

Hi all,

So Im quite new to 3d in js, and 3d in general, so please correct me if I get my terminology wrong, etc.

I am trying to figure out the best (or at least an) approach to applying colour to a model. Specifically, I want an end user to be able to draw a line on the XY dimension, creating a plane which serves to contain a colour. I’ve added a picture to illustrate the desired effect.

My question, what is the best approach to this. Im not asking for code, more the theory. Should the plane bisect the model, thus creating two separate shapes? Or should the colour be applied on a UV map, and the plane somehow projected from the 3d space onto the 2d UV map?

Any help is appreciated. Also, any link to resources would be appreciated (I dont want to waste anyones times answering basic questions).

Thanks in advance!

Hello and welcome to the Babylon community! :smiley:

This is quite an interesting problem to solve :slight_smile: I think your texture approach would be the better one, because splitting the mesh would take way more time. Another good approach would be a custom shader (either through shader code or Node Material Editor), where you pass the coordinates of the line and it colors the pixels based on the side of the line you’re at. I’m on my phone right now so linking is annoying, but learnopengl.com is a great resource on the maths side of stuff.

1 Like

Thanks for information!

I’ve been playing around with the splitting approach today (as what I envisioned the UV projection approach seemed like hell). It seems that clipping the object and cloning it seems to work somewhat decently.

Ive looked into shaders, but that is a can of worms that I intend to kick as far down the road as possible, though it seems the most robust approach. Especially as I intend to have multiple layers like this - visible chunks of the model - and cloning the whole object seems wasteful and not performant.