Beginner question: Camera control

Hello all,

I’m still new with Babylon.js and with JavaScript in general, so forgive me if I ask some silly beginner questions. My compliments to the developers for making the engine rather accessible even for newbies.

I’m working on a cultural web project that uses Babylon.js as its 3d rendering engine. I’m using a FreeCamera and want to control its movement with the four arrow keys and the page up/page down keys. However, it does not work exactly as intended. Here’s my code:

mainCamera.keysUp = [38];
mainCamera.keysDown = [40];
mainCamera.keysRotateLeft = [37];
mainCamera.keysRotateRight = [39];
mainCamera.keysUpward = [33];
mainCamera.keysDownward = [34];

The left and right keys do not, as I want it, rotate the camera but simply move it sidewise left and right (like the defauilt setting of the FreeCamera). It seems that I’m missing something here. Do I maybe have to deactivate rotating the camera with the mouse first?

Maybe somebody has a hint for me.

Many thanks in advance
Hayden

Hello and welcome to the Babylon community!

You were on track, the only thing that was missing was to unset the keysLeft and keysRight properties on the camera, since they were already using those keys and seem to be considered over the rotateLeft/Right property :smiley:

Here’s a playground with your code and the update: Camera | Babylon.js Playground (babylonjs.com)
(Usually, when posting questions on the forum, it’s better to provide a playground example from the get go so anyone who wants to help can jump right into your code - but since that’s a simple question I just copied your code here)

We’d love to see your project when/if you are able to! :smiley:

3 Likes

Hi Carol,

many thanks for your kind welcome.