Blender 2.80 testing - The Start : Part1

Well I started playing with Blender 2.80 and @JCPalmer 's new exporter. So this is the first result after a couple of hours yesterday afternoon (still having a hard time with left and right click and changes to the “A” key - old memories die hard :open_mouth:)

Anyway just a simple example - 2 objects, 2 materials, a camera and a point light - the base scene with the added floor and materials. Result :slight_smile:

Blender Template 1

Now we have second example with the fixes to the exporter @JCPalmer made below. An animated cube:

Blender Template 2

Even more encouraged now!

The scene loads. Feeling encouraged , I charged on by adding a simple animation to the cube. And disaster struck. From the export log:

========= An error was encountered =========
File “C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.80\scripts\addons\babylon_js\json_exporter.py”, line 159, in execute
self.to_json_file()
File “C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.80\scripts\addons\babylon_js\json_exporter.py”, line 221, in to_json_file
mesh.to_json_file(file_handler)
File “C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.80\scripts\addons\babylon_js\mesh.py”, line 638, in to_json_file
super().to_json_file(file_handler) # Animations
File “C:\Users\Peter\AppData\Roaming\Blender Foundation\Blender\2.80\scripts\addons\babylon_js\f_curve_animatable.py”, line 94, in to_json_file
animation.to_scene_file(file_handler)
ERROR: ‘VectorAnimation’ object has no attribute ‘to_scene_file’
========= end of processing =========

I have no idea what that means. The animation was named “Cube-moveY”. Better brains than mine might understand it :relaxed:

cheers, gryff :smile:

Will fix later today, along with maybe something else

No rush Jeff - I’m just trying simple things at the moment - till I get into the “left click” habit :open_mouth: :slight_smile:

cheers, gryff :slight_smile: