CloudPoint optimization

Hey,

I’m new to graphic development :slight_smile:

My project is to render LIDAR point cloud in a scene and I’m using the SolidParticleSystem to do so since I need to control the position of each point in the cloud (thus can’t use the regular particle system).
I’ve noticed after hours of searching online that SPS and other particle systems work good (60 fps) on static / animated (changing rotations - example) point cloud but not when changing the positions. I’m seeing a much degradation of performance when changing positions of particles in SPS.beforeUpdateParticles when changing positions for 30K points.

Also, I’ve been reading this post which gave me a lot to think about and try but still there were no positions changing what so ever.

Do you guys have some idea which I can research to enhance performance please?

Could you set a PG example so we could check how to improve the perfs if possible ?

30K iterations each frame are quite a big number for a mono-threaded engine like JS whatever you want to deal with.
So please tell us more precisely what you want to do and what issue you are facing.
The example you gave is 20K planar particles and run at 60 fps in Chrome on my computer.

Without more details, we could suggest for instance for now :

• to not update all the particle positions each frame but only some of them
  • to decouple the logic computation (if any) from the rendering loop. Example : get your fresh data from some external source at some interval, compute them or treat them in a web worker and when done, pass them to the SPS or any other particle system as positions to be rendered
  • to use less particles than 30K and to recycle them, the idea here would be to compute only really visible particles within the viewport

etc

Thanks for quick replay.

Those who didn’t change from last update? I’ll look in to it.

Yes, it is happening already.