CSS trouble with VUE3 and the Inspector

CSS isn’t my strong point and I am new to working with vue. I have a project on github that is a super simple example. basic renders the scene. I’ve set up shift-ctrl-alt-i to bring up the inspector. But it doesn’t render correctly.

I don’t understand how vue is manipulating the css. There are two locations in the code that I know of where the css is defined:

1. App.vue
<style>
html, body, div, canvas {
  padding: 0;
  margin: 0;
  width: 100%;
  height: 100%;
  overflow: hidden;
}
</style>
  1. HelloWorld.vue
<style scoped>
#canvas {
  width: 100%;
  height: 100%;
}
</style>

I thought I was able to fix that by removing div from App.vue, but that creates another problem where I seem to have a fixed aspect ratio and field of view, no longer filling out the entire browser window.

In the following image, you can see how there’s a block of white space.

And then bringing up the inspector really messes with the canvas.

I’ve tried reverting back to the original css for App.vue, which is:

#app {
  font-family: 'Avenir', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif;
  -webkit-font-smoothing: antialiased;
  -moz-osx-font-smoothing: grayscale;
  text-align: center;
  color: #2c3e50;
}

But this creates a very small canvas:

When I look at the browser’s tools, there’s a ton of <style/> entries in there that are generated by vue. I don’t know if these are related to my problem or not.

I started working with vue because it was recommended to be easier to use for a beginner and I wouldn’t need to worry too much about setting up the frameworks. But I don’t know enough to code my way out of this mess.

1 Like