Data transfer from compute shader to renderer

When I started learning about compute-shaders a few weeks ago, I looked at the Babylon examples in the docs and realized that I should first get a basic idea of WebGPU and WGSL to understand what is going on.
Now I have a project where a compute-shader (set up outside of the Babylon classes) calculates new positions of a large particle system each frame and then I let Babylon render the particle meshes with an SPS.
The bottleneck is the GPU → CPU data shoveling (mapping a buffer), which I knew is slow, but I didn’t know how crazy slow… Obviously, it feels wrong to pull data from the GPU just for Babylon to put it back to the GPU to render it.

My question is: If I would use the compute-shader class within Babylon, can I avoid this bottleneck and render the SPS with data directly from the GPU buffer?

I tried to understand the “Boids” example again, but honestly, it’s the same mystery to me as it was before I knew anything about WebGPU! :joy: It looks like it renders white triangles directly from the shader?

1 Like

@Evgeni_Popov would be the best for this issue :slight_smile:

It should work.

I think this post should help you regarding the setup of a vertex buffer that can be updated by a compute shader:

@Evgeni_Popov

Thanks for the feedback!

Now I understand the Boids example. Three questions:

-1- What is the equivalent of getting the vertex buffer data into the mesh for an SPS? Currently I set the positions by defining the SPS.updateParticle function. Would it be something like SPS.mesh.setVerticesBuffer(myVertexBuffer, false)? In the Boids example, using the “magic” boidMesh.forcedInstanceCount, the buffer size info is somehow used to get things right. How one would do this for an SPS is not clear to me.